Nate & Becky’s Invitations

January 8, 2010 at 8:04 pm 4 comments

My most recent wedding project has been the invitation suite for my friend Nate Snell and his fiancé Becky Ehlers. Their May 1 wedding in Tipp City, OH will be monochromatic in shades of blue; Becky wanted the invitations the same way. When the couple first contacted me about their wedding, the bride was all excited to talk about my wedding invitations. It was only a little bit later that I found out her colors are basically the same as mine! She even mentioned how she would like to use the same blue paper I used in my invitations. Like Rich and me, they have many of their guests traveling into town for their wedding, so they wanted to keep their invitations in an “easy to travel” little packet.

Becky’s vision was a “booklet” style invitation. I LOVED this idea; in fact it was the second design option I created for my invitations. I created 2 design options for the booklet, but this was my favorite. The blue paper will wrap fully around the back of the invite and will be clamped using brushed silver brads (those little circles). The RSVP card is a heavier stock and the dotted line is the perforation for the return postcard. The solid line on the pages represents the fold. (Click on images to enlarge)

True to form, I designed another design layout (by layout I mean a completely different format, not just graphic and type changes). In all honesty, I sent Becky 4 design layouts total which is pretty common for me to do with the invitation. This option uses the light blue paper as a wrap around the invitation. There is a cut in the center panel which fits the RSVP postcard and the Directions and Accommodations pages.

Fully Assembled

Invite + additional pages

Becky and Nate decided to go with the first option which will soon be sent to the printer for a first proof. Since they are out-of-town, I mail the proof to the couple for their review. It’s so much easier to  hold it in your hands and see what it will look like so you can accurately correct any necessary changes. I’m so excited to get the proof!

I’d love to know your thoughts!

Entry filed under: invitations, wedding.

Our Wedding : INVITATIONS A Sneak Peak

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Natalie Hester  |  January 9, 2010 at 2:30 am

    Love it!!! You are so talented…but then I already knew that 🙂 So proud of you!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Patti  |  January 11, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Very pretty! Good job, Amy!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Stacey  |  January 11, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Amy– I just love everything you do! When you have new stuff to show, I feel like it is Christmas morning! I’m so proud of you and your work! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Patti  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Just got the invites for this in the mail yesterday…they look gorgeous!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


