Ashlee’s Business Cards

February 1, 2010 at 6:02 pm 1 comment

OK, let me preface this post by apologizing for not posting anything design related in a long time! This isn’t wedding, it’s some graphic work… and it’s a long post.

My hair dresser is one of the coolest girls I’ve met in a long time! She’s totally eclectic, sincere, carefree and just an all-out great person to be around. She’s the sweet, talented woman who also did all the hair and make-up at my wedding. Looking at her, you can see that she’s a big-city gal who is slightly misplaced in Nashville. Her dream is to move to LA doing hair and make-up for movies…. did I mention that she flies out there a couple times a year on freelance gigs she gets for Lifetime movies, movie premiers, award shows and fashion shows?

Meet Ashlee! The tattoo sleeve on her left arm is created using iconic images from different Alfred Hitchcock films. Her favorite of his is “The Birds.”

photos by Gray Photography

After starting 4th Leaf Design Studio, Ashlee asked if I would be interested in creating new business cards for her as she just went through a really heart-breaking divorce and needed to update her information. Of course I agreed. Ashlee is a L’Oreal Professionnel and works at the Michaelle Vanderpool Studio, she does not need a logo for her business, so her cards were all about a “theme.” She narrowed her card themes to two: inspired by “The Birds” promotional posters and something that integrates a WWII style pin-up girl illustration. I took these two themes and made three options out of them; the top two were using the exact themes discussed and the third is a hybrid of the two themes, and a little humor for my fun. I knew which one she would choose before I even sent them to her….

Of course, Ashlee chose the option with the pin-up girl in the circles. I knew she would love that one… deals a little more with hair and make-up. I love this image of this girl.

Here’s how this card was put together… step by step. This one was nice and simple to construct, but totally the essence of Ashlee with the curved type, implied alignments and the playful rings.

image by Enoch Bolles from "The Great American Pin Up"

The other option that I really enjoyed construction is the first Birds-inspired card. I created everything from the background to illustrating the birds.

Like posted earlier, the third option was just for a little fun with the illustrations from the book The Great American Pin-Up and from the content already developed for the other cards to play a spoof on the movie poster. It’s always important to play a little and to have some fun. I didn’t want to spend too much time on this since I knew it was something for her to laugh at and me to play with.

You should also know that Ashlee is by reference ONLY. If you are looking for a new stylist, please let me know before you call her! If you do call her, mention my name.

Entry filed under: Business, graphic design.

Northern Girl’s Guide to Driving in the Southern Snow Storm NONPAREIL Magazine

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


